Melkbelly

We came late. No disrespect to the bands before 10 PM but doors open at 9:30 PM and day drinking stouts at Uppers and Downers were getting to us. Also, the chances that we’d fall in love with who was playing were slim. I was dead on my feet and dead wrong. Melkbelly’s crew came on stage and the red headed woman with bangs to her brows intrigued me. She was wearing a white and black striped t-shirt and a dress, surrounded by three taller than average men. As it so happens with openers, I didn’t know what to expect but what I heard caught my ear. And it wasn’t just because I was standing right next to the speakers.

There was melody, a strong clear voice, chaos, pop, anger, a constant drum that carried us along and a change of pace that kept us dancing along.

Melkbelly originated in Chicago, and with only 5 LP’s out I was left wanting for more.

Start listening below:

 

 

Leave a Reply

